• 1945

    How it all began

    Tischlermeister Johann Stickling und sein Bruder, Kaufmann Willy Stickling, gründen in Avenwedde eine Schreinerei als Gesellschaft bürgerlichen Rechts. Sie produzieren in einer angemieteten Halle Nähschränke und Kleinmöbel. Am Ende des Jahres beschäftigt der Betrieb bereits sieben Mitarbeiter.
  • 1947

    On the rise

    The first company-own production hall begins operation in Avenwedde. From this point on, 25 employees focus on the manufacture of kitchen buffets.
  • 1949

    Under a different name

    As of December 1, 1949 the company begins operating under the name J. and W. Stickling OHG (general partnership).
  • 1956

    Parting ways

    The company is divided: while Willy Stickling produces home furnishings in a previously built subsidiary plant in Avenwedde under the brand name Wista , Johann Stickling continues to manage the original company.
  • 1961

    New perspectives

    Heinz Stickling, the eldest son of Johann Stickling, joins the company and focusses primarily on the external image of the company. The company purchses its own lorry.
  • 1967

    In transition

    After the company's conversion to a limited partnership in 1962, it now bears the name NOBILIA-Werke J. Stickling KG. The younger son of Johann Stickling, Werner Stickling, joins the family business. The number of employees increases to 145. Almost a quarter of a century after its founding, nobilia begins specialising in fitted kitchens from this point on.
  • 1970

    Passing from one generation to the next

    Johann Stickling transfers managerial responsibility to his sons Heinz and Werner Stickling. On the occasion of the company's 25th anniversary, a new plant is built to further expand production capabilities on a 51,000 square metre site in Verl-Sürenheide with a production area initially measuring 7,000 square metres.
  • 1973

    The birth of an attraction

    The first in-house exhibition takes place on an exhibition area covering 2,000 square metres. A tradition is born, which continues to hold a significant attraction for the industry today.
  • 1976

    Managerial decisions

    The Stickling brothers establish another plant in Verl-Kaunitz under the name Dominanta . On a production area of 8,000 square metres a staff of 80 manufactures an extensive range of modular wall units.
  • 1982

    With confidence

    In Verl-Sürenheide a new building is constructed with 3,000 square metres of office space to centralise the administrative departments.
  • 1985

    Everything under one roof

    The old plant in Avenwedde closes its doors. With this, the entire kitchen furniture production is now based exclusively in Verl-Sürenheide.
  • 1989

    nobilia produces exclusively kitchen furniture

    Heinz and Werner Stickling decide to discontinue manufacturing home furnishings and sell Dominanta. In the same year, the Verl-Sürenheide plant introduces double shift operation. nobilia concentrates exclusively on the production of fitted kitchens.
  • 1993

    Visible progress

    A new office building is constructed to house the technical administration, a training centre and a two-storey production hall with an area of approx. 6,000 sqm. Start-up of a fully automated worktop processing machine line.
  • 1994

    Records and peak performance

    With roughly 1,300 employees and a production area measuring 85,000 square metres, a new sales record of 680 million German Marks is reached. Every day roughly 1,000 kitchens leave the plant.
  • 1995

    Innovation as factor for success

    With the start-up/commissioning of a new production hall, the production area in Verl-Sürenheide increases to 105,000 square metres. This also documents the continuation of the innovative and rapid corporate development just in time for the company's 50th anniversary.
  • 1996

    The end of an era

    Heinz and Werner Stickling shift from the operative side of the business into the newly founded advisory board.
  • 1997

    Flying high

    Creation of a new high bay storage system for fronts and carcase components. Space is available for 10,400 pallets on 1,800 sqm.
  • 1999

    Setting a new course

    Management experiences a change in personnel. Dr. Günter Scheipermeier takes over as Chairman of the Board. Only a few months before, on May 15,1999, Heinz Stickling passed away as the result of an accident.
  • 2003

    Making room at the top

    Commissioning of high bay storage system for worktops. 1,200 storage spaces are in the 23 metre high hall on a surface area of 1,800 sqm providing room for approximately 250 various storage articles.
  • 2004

    Kontinuität in Ausbildung

    The in-house training workshop celebrates its 25th anniversary. More than 200 carpenters, both male and female, have been trained there since 1979.
  • 2006

    More space for more people and machines

    The start-up/commissioning of a second plant in Verl-Kaunitz with 50,000 square metres of production area instantly creates 145 new jobs. Initially 2,700 units are produced daily in single shift operation. With an addition to the administrative building in Verl-Sürenheide, the office space is expanded by roughly 2,400 square metres.
  • 2007

    Certified sustainability

    For the first time nobilia has its environmental management system certified in accordance with DIN EN ISO 14001 and is awarded the "Golden M" award from the German Gütegemeinschaft für Möbel e.V. (Furniture Quality Seal).
  • 2009

    Proven quality

    The 2009 in-house exhibition also marks the grand opening of the test laboratory, which is unique to the kitchen furniture industry. Here, all new developments are subjected to extensive testing on 230 square metres. Only furniture that has passed the qualification tests in the nobilia test laboratory are accepted into the new collection.
  • 2010

    On the road to success

    Without interrupting operations, plant I in Verl-Sürenheide is expanded and a new, larger production hall is built around the existing building. Four years after its construction, plant II in Verl-Kaunitz switches over to double shift operation.
  • 2011

    Unstoppable development

    Plant II in Verl-Kaunitz has grown rapidly and now roughly 500 employees produce 9,000 units on a production area of 110,000 square metres.
  • 2012

    Currently

    Each day 2,500 kitchens leave the 215,000 square metre production hall and are delivered directly to customers by 135 company lorries. Another storey is added to the administration building in Verl-Sürenheide and the office space is expanded by another 2,500 square metres.
  • 2014

    Growth

    The next phase of expansion is achieved with the launch of the high bay storage system at plant II in Kaunitz. With a daily unit output of over 10,000 units on 115,000 m² production area, plant II is now the second largest production site for kitchen furniture in Germany following nobilia's plant I in Verl-Sürenheide.
  • 2015

    Jubilee

    In the company's 70th year, nobilia achieves a new sales record with EUR 1,018.4 million and thus experiences growth for the 15th consecutive year. With this, nobilia expands once again and solidifies its position as market leader. In total, the two plants produce over 630,000 kitchens. The unit output at plant II increases yet again to more than 12,000 units daily. Plant I at the Verl-Sürenheide location manufactures roughly 16,700 units per day.

• 1945

    Als alles begann

    Tischlermeister Johann Stickling und sein Bruder, Kaufmann Willy Stickling, gründen in Avenwedde eine Schreinerei als Gesellschaft bürgerlichen Rechts. Sie produzieren in einer angemieteten Halle Nähschränke und Kleinmöbel. Am Ende des Jahres beschäftigt der Betrieb bereits sieben Mitarbeiter.
  • 1947

    Im Aufwind

    In Avenwedde wird die erste eigene Produktionshalle in Betrieb genommen.Von nun an konzentrieren sich 25 Mitarbeiter auf die Herstellung von Küchenbuffets.
  • 1949

    Unter verändertem Namen

    Ab 1. Dezember 1949 firmiert das Unternehmen unter dem Namen J. und W. Stickling OHG.
  • 1956

    Auf eigenen Wegen

    Es kommt zur Teilung des Unternehmens: Während Willy Stickling in einem zuvor errichteten Zweigwerk in Avenwedde Wohnmöbel unter der Marke Wista produziert, führt Johann Stickling die Ursprungsfirma weiter.
  • 1961

    Neue Blickwinkel

    Heinz Stickling, der ältere Sohn von Johann Stickling, tritt ins Unternehmen ein und kümmert sich verstärkt um die Außendarstellung des Unternehmens. Der erste eigene Lkw wird angeschafft.
  • 1967

    Im Wandel

    Nachdem das Unternehmen bereits 1962 in eine KG umgewandelt worden ist, trägt es nun den Namen NOBILIA-Werke J. Stickling KG. Der jüngere Sohn von Johann Stickling, Werner Stickling, kommt ins Unternehmen. Die Mitarbeiterzahl steigt auf 145 an. Ein knappes Vierteljahrhundert nach der Gründung spezialisiert sich nobilia von nun an auf Einbauküchen.
  • 1970

    Wechsel der Generationen

    Johann Stickling übergibt die Führungsverantwortung an seine Söhne Heinz und Werner Stickling. Um die Produktion weiter auszubauen, entsteht zum 25-jährigen Firmenjubiläum auf einem 51.000 Quadratmeter großen Gelände in Verl-Sürenheide ein neues Werk mit einer Produktionsfläche von zunächst 7.000 Quadratmetern.
  • 1973

    Beginn einer Attraktion

    Auf einer Ausstellungsfläche von 2.000 Quadratmetern findet erstmalig eine Hausmesse statt. Eine Tradition entsteht, die bis heute große Anziehungskraft auf die Branche ausübt.
  • 1976

    Unternehmerische Entscheidungen

    Die Brüder Stickling errichten unter dem Namen Dominanta ein weiteres Werk in Verl-Kaunitz. Auf 8.000 Quadratmetern Produktionsfläche fertigen hier 80 Beschäftigte ein umfangreiches Wohnwand- und Anbauprogramm.
  • 1982

    Mit Zuversicht

    In Verl-Sürenheide entsteht ein neues Gebäude mit 3.000 Quadratmetern Bürofläche,um die Verwaltungsabteilungen zu zentralisieren.
  • 1985

    Alles unter einem Dach

    Das alte Werk in Avenwedde schließt seine Tore. Damit ist die gesamte Küchenmöbelproduktion nun ausschließlich in Verl-Sürenheide ansässig.
  • 1989

    nobilia produziert ausschließlich Küchenmöbel

    Heinz und Werner Stickling beschließen, die Wohnmöbelproduktion einzustellen, und verkaufen Dominanta. In Verl-Sürenheide beginnt im gleichen Jahr die Einführung des Zweischichtbetriebs. nobilia konzentriert sich ausschließlich auf die Fertigung von Einbauküchen.
  • 1993

    Sichtbare Fortschritte

    Das Unternehmen wächst kontinuierlich weiter: Ein neues Bürogebäude der technischen Verwaltung, ein Schulungszentrum und die erste zweistöckige Produktionshalle mit 6.000 qm Fläche entstehen, der Küchen- und Kantinenbereich wird erweitert und das Ausstellungsfoyer neu gestaltet. In der Produktion wird eine vollautomatische Arbeitsplatten-Bearbeitungsanlage in Betrieb genommen.
  • 1994

    Rekorde und Höchstleistungen

    Mit rund 1.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern wird auf einer Produktionsfläche von 85.000 Quadratmetern ein neuer Umsatzrekord von 680 Millionen Mark erreicht. Täglich verlassen rund 1.000 Küchen das Werk.
  • 1995

    Innovation als Erfolgsfaktor

    Durch die Inbetriebnahme einer neuen Halle wächst die Produktionsfläche in Verl-Sürenheide auf 105.000 Quadratmeter. Dies dokumentiert auch zum 50- jährigen Firmenjubiläum die Fortsetzung der innovativen und rasanten Unternehmensentwicklung.
  • 1996

    Ende einer Ära

    Heinz und Werner Stickling wechseln aus dem operativen Geschäft in den zuvor neu gegründeten Beirat.
  • 1997

    Hoch hinaus

    Ein neues Hochregallager für Fronten und Korpusteile entsteht. Auf 1.800 qm Fläche stehen 10.400 Palettenplätze zur Verfügung.
  • 1999

    Auf neuem Kurs

    In der Führungsriege kommt es zu personellen Veränderungen. Dr. Günter Scheipermeier übernimmt den Vorsitz der Geschäftsführung. Wenige Monate zuvor stirbt am 15. Mai 1999 Heinz Stickling an den Folgen eines Unfalls.
  • 2003

    Platz nach oben schaffen

    Inbetriebnahme des Hochregallagers für Arbeitsplatten. Auf einer Grundfläche von 1.800 qm stehen in der 23 m hohen Halle 1.200 Stellplätze für rund 250 unterschiedliche Lagerartikel zur Verfügung.
  • 2004

    Kontinuität in Ausbildung

    Die unternehmenseigene Lehrwerkstatt feiert 25jähriges Jubiläum. Seit 1979 wurden dort mehr als 200 Tischlerinnen und Tischler ausgebildet.
  • 2006

    Mehr Raum für mehr Menschen und Maschinen

    Die Inbetriebnahme eines zweiten Werkes in Verl-Kaunitz mit 50.000 Quadratmetern Produktionsfläche schafft auf Anhieb 145 neue Arbeitsplätze. Im Einschichtbetrieb werden täglich zunächst 2.700 Typen produziert. Durch einen Anbau des Verwaltungsgebäudes in Verl-Sürenheide wird die Bürofläche um rund 2.400 Quadratmeter erweitert.
  • 2007

    Zertifiziert in Nachhaltigkeit

    nobilia lässt erstmalig sein Umweltmanagementsystem gemäß DIN/EN ISO 14001 zertifizieren und erhält die Auszeichnung "Goldenes M" der Deutschen Gütegemeinschaft für Möbel e.V.
  • 2009

    Bewiesene Qualität

    Mit der Hausmesse 2009 eröffnet das in der Küchenmöbelbranche einzigartige Prüflabor. Auf 230 Quadratmetern werden hier alle Neuentwicklungen umfangreichen Testverfahren unterzogen. Nur Möbel, die die Qualifikationstests im nobilia-Prüflabor bestanden haben, werden in die neue Kollektion aufgenommen.
  • 2010

    Auf Erfolgskurs

    Bei laufendem Betrieb wird das Werk I in Verl-Sürenheide erweitert und eine neue, größere Halle um die bestehende gebaut. Vier Jahre nach seinem Bau stellt das Werk II in Verl-Kaunitz auf Zweischichtbetrieb um.
  • 2011

    Unaufhaltsame Entwicklung

    Das Werk II in Verl-Kaunitz ist rasant gewachsen und fertigt inzwischen mit rund 500 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern auf einer Produktionsfläche von 110.000 Quadratmetern 9.000 Typen.
  • 2012

    Aktuell

    2.500 Küchen verlassen täglich die insgesamt 215.000 Quadratmeter großen Produktionshallen und werden durch 135 eigene Lkws direkt zum Kunden geliefert. Das Verwaltungsgebäude in Verl-Sürenheide wird um eine Etage aufgestockt und die Bürofläche nochmals um rund 2.500 Quadratmeter erweitert.
  • 2014

    Wachstum

    Mit der Inbetriebnahme des Hochregallagers im Werk II in Kaunitz ist die nächste Ausbaustufe erreicht. Mit einer Typenleistung von mehr als 10.000 Schränken pro Tag auf 115.000 qm Produktionsfläche ist Werk II die nunmehr zweitgrößte Produktionsstätte für Küchenmöbel in Deutschland nach dem nobilia Werk I in Verl-Sürenheide.
  • 2015

    Jubiläum

    Im 70. Jahr seiner Firmengeschichte erzielt nobilia mit 1.018,4 Millionen € einen neuen Umsatzrekord und wächst somit im 15. Jahr in Folge. Damit hat nobilia seine Position als Marktführer erneut weiter ausgebaut und gefestigt. Insgesamt wurden in beiden Werken mehr als 630.000 Küchen produziert. Die Typenleistung im Werk II wurde erneut auf mehr als 12.000 Typen am Tag gesteigert. Das Werk I am Standort Verl-Sürenheide fertigt pro Tag etwa 16.700 Schränke.